What are Small Five Animals?

Mmmmm, small five animals. You might be asking yourself, what the heck are those? Well, my friend, I’m here to give you the lowdown on these little critters that may not get as much attention as their larger counterparts, but are just as interesting and deserving of our admiration.


First things first, let’s talk about why small five animals are so interesting. I mean, sure, lions, elephants, and giraffes are cool and all, but have you ever heard of an ant lion? These small animals are fascinating in their own right and are an important part of the ecosystem they inhabit. But before we dive too deep, let me preview the main question of this post: what are small five animals?

What are Small Five Animals?

Small five animals are a group of five small creatures found in Africa. They are called the small five because they are the small counterparts to the big five animals of Africa, which include lions, elephants, leopards, buffalos, and rhinoceroses. The small five are made up of the ant lion, elephant shrew, leopard tortoise, buffalo weaver, and rhinoceros beetle.

Ant Lion

Let’s start with the ant lion, which despite its name, is not actually a lion. It’s a small insect that looks like a cross between an ant and a dragonfly. These insects are named for their unique hunting method, which involves digging a cone-shaped pit in the ground and waiting at the bottom for prey to fall in. Once the prey falls in, the ant lion uses its large jaws to catch and devour it.

Elephant Shrew

Next up, we have the elephant shrew. These small mammals are named for their long noses, which resemble the trunks of elephants. They are incredibly fast and can reach speeds of up to 28 miles per hour! Despite their small size, they are fierce predators and feed on insects, spiders, and small vertebrates.

Leopard Tortoise

Moving on to the leopard tortoise, which is the largest of the small five animals. These tortoises can grow up to two feet in length and have a distinctive pattern on their shells that resembles the spots of a leopard. They are herbivores and feed on a variety of plants and grasses.

Buffalo Weaver

Now, let’s talk about the buffalo weaver. These birds are named for their close association with buffalos, as they often build their nests in the trees around buffalo herds. They are social creatures and live in large groups, with multiple pairs of birds contributing to building a single nest.

Rhinoceros Beetle

Last but not least, we have the rhinoceros beetle, which is named for its distinctive horn-like appendage on its head. These beetles are the largest of the small five animals and can reach lengths of up to six inches. Despite their intimidating appearance, they are harmless to humans and feed on sap and fruit.

Related Questions

Now that we’ve covered the basics of what small five animals are and who they include, let’s address some common questions about them.

Why are small five animals important?

Small five animals are an important part of the ecosystem in which they live. They play a crucial role in maintaining the balance of nature and are often an indicator of the health of an ecosystem. Additionally, they are a source of food for larger predators and are an important part of the food chain.

What is the significance of the small five animals in African culture?

Small five animals are an important part of African culture and are often included in traditional folklore and art. They are seen as a symbol of the diversity and beauty of African wildlife and are revered for their unique characteristics and abilities.


Let’s delve deeper into some subtopics related to the small five animals:

Habitat and Diet

The small five animals are native to Africa, and they are found in various habitats, including savannas, deserts, and woodlands. Each animal has its unique habitat preference and can be found in different regions of the continent.

The ant lion, for example, prefers sandy or dusty habitats, and they are commonly found in savannas and deserts. The elephant shrew, on the other hand, likes to live in woodlands, savannas, and rocky areas. They are usually active during the day and can be seen darting through the bushes in search of insects.

The leopard tortoise is commonly found in grasslands and savannas, where they can graze on different plant species. The buffalo weaver likes to nest in trees and shrubs in the savannas and woodlands. They feed on insects and seeds, and they are known for their elaborate nest-building skills.

The rhinoceros beetle prefers woodlands and forests, where they can feed on decaying wood and fruits. They are also known for their impressive horn, which they use for fighting and mating.

Conservation Efforts

Like many other wildlife species, the small five animals are facing threats such as habitat loss, poaching, and climate change. However, there are ongoing conservation efforts aimed at protecting these unique animals and their habitats.

Various organizations, such as the African Wildlife Foundation and World Wildlife Fund, are working towards conserving African wildlife species, including the small five animals. They support programs that focus on habitat restoration, anti-poaching measures, and education programs aimed at raising awareness about the importance of conservation.


Let’s address some frequently asked questions about the small five animals:

What is the difference between the small five and the big five animals?

The big five animals are a group of large mammals commonly found in Africa, including lions, leopards, elephants, rhinos, and buffaloes. The small five animals, on the other hand, are a group of small wildlife species found in Africa, including ant lions, elephant shrews, leopard tortoises, buffalo weavers, and rhinoceros beetles.

Are there any other groups of animals that are similar to the small five?

Yes, there are various other groups of small animals found in Africa, including the Ugly Five, the Little Five, and the Shy Five. The Ugly Five includes hyenas, warthogs, vultures, marabou storks, and wildebeests, while the Little Five includes the buffalo weaver, elephant shrew, leopard tortoise, ant lion, and rhinoceros beetle. The Shy Five includes the meerkat, pangolin, aardvark, bat-eared fox, and the African wildcat.

Can small five animals be kept as pets?

No, small five animals are wild animals and cannot be kept as pets. It is illegal to keep these animals as pets in most African countries, and doing so can lead to fines or imprisonment.


In conclusion, the small five animals are a group of unique and fascinating wildlife species found in Africa. Despite their small size, they play an important role in the ecosystem and deserve more attention and conservation efforts.

These animals are facing various threats, including habitat loss and poaching, and it is our responsibility to protect them and their habitats. By supporting conservation efforts and raising awareness about the importance of wildlife conservation, we can help ensure the survival of the small five animals and other African wildlife species for generations to come.

Thank you for reading, and I hope you learned something new about the small five animals. Let

One comment